My Very Own Version of Pesto

Standard

pesto 4.1.2013

I wasn’t going to post a second time today, but I thought I’d best get this up before I forget what I used.

Okay.  I have to admit, I did not measure while I made this.  So, you will have to adjust your ingredients to suit your taste as far as thickness, etc.  I used an entire package of Trader Joe’s Organic Basil (4 oz.) along with walnuts (I’m guess 2/3-1 cup), pine nuts (1/4 to 1/2 cup), sunflower seeds (1/4 cup ish), olive oil (just a bit, 2 T), orange juice (to give some liquid in lieu of more oil–1/4 to 1/2 cup), 4-5 cloves of garlic, black pepper (1/4 to 1/2 tsp).  I added a tiny bit of coconut milk (Trader Joe’s Original Unsweetened) when I needed more liquid and didn’t want more sweetness from orange juice.  I added a little bit of sea salt, a shake of nutritional yeast and some extra garlic powder as well.  I combined everything in my lovely Kitchenaid food processor and voila!  My pesto is fairly thick and could be used as a dip or spread or you could serve over pasta (probably would need to thin out with more coconut or almond milk or your choice.

Recap:

4 oz fresh basil

2/3-1 cup walnuts

1/4 to 1/2 cup pine nuts

1/4 cup (or so) raw sunflower seeds

4-5 cloves garlic

2 Tbl olive oil

1/2 cup (ish) orange juice

1/2 tsp sea salt

2 Tbl nutritional yeast

1/4 tsp (or so) black pepper

splash (or so) unsweetened coconut milk (almond or others will work too)

My best tip–chop the basil a bit first.  My second best tip–start with less and add more of the nuts, OJ, seasonings, etc.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: What’s In My Tortilla Today? No Fooling! | healthyhypocrite

  2. Pingback: What’s In My Tortilla Today? Almost a Repeat. | healthyhypocrite

Leave a Reply

