What’s In My Tortilla Today? Today Schmaday!

Standard

2013-02-19 13.28.49

 

Today’s tortilla (and call me a liar, because this not actually from today–it’s one I made back in February and saved for just the right time–like now) is loaded with stuff I have in my fridge and cabinet including left over baked potatoes from last night’s dinner.  We start with an organic wheat & corn flour tortilla  lightly heated in the toaster oven (300ish degrees), Trader Joe’s “This Is Not a Tub of Cream Cheese This is a Tub of Non-Dairy Spread,” quinoa, red pepper, onion, baked potato (skins on), hummus, garlic powder, avocado, chia seeds, sunflower seeds, Trader Joe’s Jalapeno Pepper Hot Sauce, nutritional yeast and a dash of white pepper.

I realize I’ve not mentioned that I typically heat my tortillas in the toaster oven (I do not own or use a microwave oven). Sometimes, like today, the tortilla will be eaten flat and slightly browned and crispy.  Sometimes I roll into a burrito style wrap and heat wrapped in foil.  Sometimes I heat folded over once and wrapped in foil to retail the softness.

Today’s tortilla is especially tasty (not that they aren’t always) for some reason.  It’s a very nice combination of flavors.  Notice how there is no added salt or oil.  I’m not a “no fat” fanatic as I know we need good fats such as avocado.  Oh, and speaking of avocado, this one was something of a disappointment as far as some dark areas on the inside.  Fortunately, the flavor was not compromised and I was still able to use and enjoy most of it.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

