What’s In My Tortilla Today? New Tortilla Alert!

Standard

2013-04-07 15.18.01

It’s always a good idea to take a little extra time at Trader Joe’s when you can.  We often get into habits and buy what we know and forget to look  for new items.  Well, I found a new tortilla there today and I just had to share.  As you may know, my first criteria for a tortilla is for it to be vegan.  Once that is established, I still look at the ingredients, just in case something weird is present.  While these are not the epitome of healthy eating, they are darned tasty.  What are they, you ask?  Trader Joe’s Chia Seed Flour Tortillas!

Here’s what I put on/in (this is an on/in day as I ate it flat like a tostada for the first part, then I folded it over) my tortilla today:

Black beans (these were soaked and cooked by yours truly, then seasoned)

Onion

Tomato

Red bell pepper

Cucumber

Avocado

Black olives

Mung bean sprouts

Trader Joe’s Tomatillo and Roasted Yellow Chile Salsa

My secret seasoning

And there you have it.  Another tasty creation.  On a side not, these new tortillas are on the small side at only 7″ in diameter, so I guess they did me a favor since I will eat less!

Leave a Reply

