Chewy Samoa Bars. No Tortilla Anywhere, I Swear!

Standard

It’s so nice when you see a recipe and you have all the ingredients on hand!  I made these easy bars yesterday.  Almost ate the entire batch in one sitting.

2013-04-17 14.56.00

Please make sure to click on the link for the recipe because I’m not going to repeat it here.  I will say this, I don’t think I’ll use the brown sugar next time.  I may add a wee bit of agave to the crust and probably more nuts too.  Oh, and I highly recommend doubling this recipe since it doesn’t even fill an 8″ square pan (I wouldn’t double the quantity of dates, maybe 1.5 times the amount).  I tried toasting the coconut for the top and was very diligent with the stirring and keeping an eye on it will it was in the oven, but I didn’t like how it came out so I used plain for the top.  Tastes great anyway!  Also, the only chocolate I had was unsweetened Belgian baking chocolate.  I had to add some sugar to it to take the bitter edge off of it.  Next time I’ll add some agave instead.  Oh, and for the oil, I used coconut, if you must know.

Healthy Hypocrite Tip:  I don’t know about you, but I never use a microwave (don’t even own one) so I made a mini double boiler with a saucepan and a stainless steel bowl to melt the chocolate.  Remember to have a towel handy to wipe the water off the bowl when you remove it from the pan or you might get water in your bars!

4 responses »

  1. Oh man, samoas were my absolute favorite Girl Scout cookie. My mom had to buy a separate box just for me — I refused to share any of the cookies with my family! These are probably much healthier, and they look downright decadent. I’d eat the whole pan too!

Leave a Reply

