What’s In My Juice Today? Nothing Fancy!

Standard

2013-04-22 14.43.25

I used to juice a lot in the early Healthy Hypocrite days and then for some inexplicable reason, I sort of stopped.  It’s probably because cleaning the juicer is a bit of a pain in the arse.  You know what I mean?  Some of you do.  But enough about me…

Nothing fancy, but very tasty and not one bit hypocrite:

Carrot (I didn’t count, so best guesstimate is about 12-15)

Beet (one small)

Cucumber (1/3 of a medium cuke)

Ginger (I’ll guess the piece as about the size equivalent of 2 tsp?)

Garlic (one small clove)

I should’ve made more!

Healthy Hypocrite Tip:  I took the veggie pulp from the juice (minus the cucumber skins) and put it into the slow cooker along with some low sodiium veggie broth, yellow miso paste, water (not too much liquid, but enough so the lentils will cook), 1/2 cup small green lentils and some seasonings like onion powder, paprika and pepper.  I plan to make this into veggie burgers by adding cooked quinoa, nuts (walnuts maybe?), more seasonings and some ground flax (for binding).  I’ll make patties and freeze them for later tortilla adventures…stay tuned for more details on how they come out!

2 responses »

  1. This juice looks delicious! I also never heard of using juice pulp for veggie burgers, but that’s a great idea. I’ll have to try that sometime.

  2. Thank you! I hope to post something that resembles a recipe of what I used to make the veggie burgers…it may actually end up as a loaf with nuts and quinoa.

Leave a Reply

