What’s In My Tortilla Today? Mediterranean Melange!

Standard

2013-04-25 13.10.24

This one is a new Healthy Hypocrite favorite!

The Trader Joe’s Chile and Onion Tortilla is back and better than ever with this savory assortment of goodies on top of it!

Hummus, homemade faux mozzarella (aka, moxarella, click here for link to the recipe), red onion, fresh basil, zucchini, tomato, baby spinach, kalamata olive, avocado, and something new–also homemade–vegan spicy seitan (called Seitan O’ Greatness, click here for recipe) and a good sprinkle of black pepper.

In lieu of my Healthy Hypocrite Tip, which would be right here, I’m going to elaborate on the seitan recipe a bit.  I’ve never made this before and had been planning to do so for a while.  This is so easy and delicious.  It’s not gluten-free (I’m not, as far as I know, gluten intolerant) even so, I do try to keep the gluten intake to a minimum and balance what I eat.  Image the possibilities for using this in many dishes!  Anyway, I mostly stuck to the recipe.  I didn’t have allspice on hand so I left that out.  I did add a teaspoon or so of onion powder.  I definitely used the full quantities of black pepper and cayenne (I like it spicy).  I plan to make another version of this for my mother that is soy-free and probably not as spicy.  Stay tuned for that recipe coming soon!

Leave a Reply

