What’s In My Tortilla Today? Soup & Salad…Really!

Standard

I know it doesn’t seem like you can put soup in a tortilla, but in my never ending quest to come up with new and exciting things to put in/on my tortillas, I had this idea today.  I made a very thick creamy potato leek soup the other day that is quite tasty.  Again, it’s very thick  (if I reheated it to eat as soup, I’d surely add water or vegetable broth to thin a little before eating) so I was able to spread it on with a knife.  I got the idea because I was going to start with hummus and then I remembered the soup.

Here it is with just the Trader Joe’s Brown Rice Tortilla, the potato leek soup and some Daiya Cheddar Style Shreds all metly and the tortilla all crispy right from the toaster oven.

2013-04-27 13.58.35

Then I chopped up a bunch of salad fixings and mixed them together.  Usually I chop and layer onto the tortilla rather than mixing them together. Here’s what I used:

Fresh basil, tomato, kalamata olives, jicama, zucchini, cucumber, red bell pepper, Seitan O’ Greatness, red onion, avocado and radish.  I chopped some baby spinach and put it on the tortilla then added the mixed salad and topped with raw sunflower seeds.  Really needs no dressing or salsa at all.  I did add a dash of my secret no-salt seasoning.  Very flavorful.  You can still taste the soup which is seasoned with rosemary and white pepper (I know I should have kept track of what I put into the soup so I could share the recipe–next time!).  Here it is fully loaded:

2013-04-27 14.01.59

Healthy Hypocrite Tip:  What is jicama, you ask?  Here’s some information.

Leave a Reply

