Where’s My Tortilla Today? Don’t Ask My Salad!

Standard

2013-04-29 12.16.21

I’m still not bored with tortillas and I hope you are with me on this.  I just feel like a salad again today.  This is all healthy and no hypocrite!

Here’s the list in no particular order:

Baby Spinach, broccoli, cauliflower, beet, radish, cucumber, zucchini, tomato, avocado, jicama, carrot, red onion, spirulina, chia seed, sunflower seed, red bell pepper, lemon juice, fresh basil, black pepper, green olive, garlic.

Notice that there is no salt or oil.  It’s really not needed when you have avocado.

Healthy Hypocrite Tip:  Vegetables and fruit contain mostly water.   I’ve used my mini food processor to chop the veggies a bit finer than typically done for most salads.  This brings out the water content in the veggies making the salad nice and moist thus eliminating the need for additional dressings.

Here are some statistics on water content in vegetables:

Broccoli:  91%

Carrot:  87%

Cucumber:  96%

Radish:  95%

Spinach:  92%

Tomato:  94%

Leave a Reply

