Where’s My Tortilla Today? Sandwich City Sweetheart!

Standard

Yes, sometimes I just want a sandwich.  It’s true that you shouldn’t food shop when you are hungry.  That’s how I ended up buying a loaf of bread last night.  I know!  I do the tortillas as a way to still have something bread-like without all the bread.  It’s been a while since I’ve had bread so I figure in the spirit of moderation, it’s a good thing once in a while.

Bonus points for anyone who can tell me from where I borrowed/modified the  second part of this post title (quote)!

As an added bonus, and because this sandwich is just so darned pretty, I took extra photos during the layering process. Enjoy!

2013-05-03 14.07.43

We start with Trader Joe’s Whole Wheat Tuscan Pane Bread (vegan, of course).  One side has avocado and black olives and the other has hummus and pepitas (for the uninitiated, pumpkin seeds).  Then…

2013-05-03 14.11.05

White onion and orange bell pepper.  And then…

2013-05-03 14.14.31

Beefsteak tomato and cucumber.  And then…

2013-05-03 14.19.19

Kale, fabulous kale, my secret no-salt seasoning and Trader Joe’s Salsa Verde.  Now stop reading blogs and go eat something healthy!

Healthy Hypocrite Tip:  One of the ingredients in my secret no-salt seasoning is turmeric.   Please click here for info on turmeric.  I put this into most of my dishes.  Usually a small amount that won’t affect the flavor too much.  It adds up though!

Bonus Healthy Hypocrite Tip:  Notice how I put the pepitas and olives on the hummus and avocado?  I do that so they have something to stick to that will keep them from falling out of the sandwich.

Leave a Reply

