Seitan O’ Greatness? With Permission From The Tortilla!

Standard

2013-05-07 18.12.24

I’ve made this twice now.  It’s the easiest, tastiest seitan I’ve ever had.  I’ve looked at many a recipe for seitan and this one seemed the easiest and I like the spice combination.  It’s got great texture, flavor and keeps well refrigerated for days.  Use on pizza, salads, tortillas (duh!), appetizers or whatever you think needs a spicy vegan meat substitute (stir fry anyone?).

The first time I made this, I stuck to the recipe for the most part.  I didn’t have (or didn’t look hard enough in the spice cabinet to find) allspice.  This time I bought some and then of course, discovered I had some.  Ah well, it’s probably quite old and needed to be replaced anyway.

Here’s the recipe exactly as I modified and made it today:

Dry ingredients, mix together in a large bowl (I like to use a whisk–works great):

1-1/2 cups vital wheat gluten

1/4 cup nutritional yeast (see me for more on this)

1 tsp sea salt

2 tsp paprika (I used regular, but if you have smoked, go for it!)

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp cumin

2 tsp black pepper (you can use less)

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (you can use less)

1/8 tsp allspice

2 heaping tsp garlic powder

2 heaping tsp onion powder (not in the original recipe)

Wet ingredients (whisk together in a smaller bowl):

3/4 cup water

4 Tbl tomato paste (aka 1/4 cup)

1 Tbl tamari

2 Tbl extra virgin olive oil

2 Tbl vegan worcestershire sauce (notice how weird the word worcestershire sounds when you repeat it a bunch of times!)

1/4 tsp liquid smoke (this is not in the original recipe, but I had it on hand)

Preheat oven to 325° F.

Add mixed wet ingredients into mixed dry ingredients and stir until well mixed.   Remove ball from bowl and knead for a minute or two.  I did this on a cutting board.  Roll into a log about 8″ long and wrap tightly in foil (remember, shiny side in) twisted on the ends (like a big tootsie roll).  Bake for 90 minutes.  Remove from oven, unwrap and cool completely.  Slice to use as desired.  Re-wrap in foil and/or plastic and store in the refrigerator.

Here’s the link to the original recipe to give proper credit.

Also, follow my blog so you will not miss when I post a gluten-free seitan recipe!

Healthy Hypocrite Tip:  You can use Bragg’s Liquid Aminos, soy sauce (reduced sodium is a good choice), shoyu or coconut aminos in place of the tamari.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Super Loaded Vegan Mac & Cheese? Virtual Vegan Potluck! | Healthy Hypocrite

  2. Pingback: What’s In My Tortilla Tonight? Late Night Hypocrite Version! | Healthy Hypocrite

  3. Pingback: What’s In My Tortilla Today? Where Have You Been Hiding? | Healthy Hypocrite

  4. Pingback: What’s In My Tortilla Tonight? Where Have I Been Hiding? | Healthy Hypocrite

  5. Pingback: What’s In My Tortilla Today? Kinda Like Last Time, Only Better! | Healthy Hypocrite

Leave a Reply

