Roasted Sweet Potato Rounds? Mono-Meal!

Standard

2013-05-30 19.34.48

Because sometimes you just want to eat one thing and one thing only for your meal.  The mono-meal concept is certainly not new but it’s always a nice change of pace.

I took three sweet potatoes, peeled them and sliced them into 3/8″-1/2″ thick rounds (even someone like me with a good sense of measurement doesn’t get them perfect!).  I then dumped them into a large bowl, added a drizzle of olive oil, black pepper, Himalayan pink salt and used my hands to coat all the pieces.  Oh, wait, preheat the oven to 425° first!  Then I put them on a baking sheet (okay, two baking sheets) and put them into the oven.  I set the timer for 20 minutes with the idea that I would check on them part of the way through and turn them over.  Which I did when I smelled their tasty aroma probably a little more than 10 minutes in.  Continued to roast them until the timer went off.  The only thing I added was a little dash of my secret no-salt seasoning.  That’s it.  My whole meal.  Yes, the leftovers will be great in a tortilla tomorrow!

Sweet potatoes are loaded with vitamin A–a one cup serving has 769% of the recommended daily value.

Healthy Hypocrite Tip:  Other great things to eat as mono-meals are melon–especially for breakfast or lunch in season and cauliflower–roasted or steamed served with a bit of lemon.

One response »

Leave a Reply

