What’s In My Tortilla Today? Vegan Tofu Scramble! Product Review Alert!

Standard

The kind folks at Phoney Baloneys sent me a pack of Kyle Domer’s Rations with my last order for their coconut bacon.  So I guess this is kind of like a semi-solicited review, but I didn’t order this from them, so who knows or cares?

2013-06-02 13.40.31

Okay, so this product is a spice packet for seasoning tofu for a tofu scramble.  This is not something I eat frequently, but from time to time I do buy organic, non-gmo tofu.  At first I thought there wasn’t enough in the packet to season a full block of tofu.  I was pleasantly surprised that it did provide enough flavor for the block of extra firm tofu as well as the add-ins I put in with it.  The seasonings are a little spicy, which I am partial to.   I did notice an aroma when I first added it to the tofu in the skillet that seemed kind of “eggy” like real eggs which for a vegan, is a major turn off.  This “eggy” scent did not carry over into the flavor so no worries.  I added red onion, orange bell pepper, fresh parsley and baby spinach to the skillet when I sauteed the tofu and again, there was enough flavor to cover all of this too.  I did add a little sprinkle of nutritional yeast as I can’t resist adding stuff.  I was going to add some of my secret no-salt seasoning but I managed to resist the urge out of a desire to taste this seasoning as it is  This dish would’ve been fined served just like this on a plate, but you know me, I’ve got to put it into a tortilla.  I used a Trader Joe’s Organic Brown Rice Tortilla (gluten free, baby!) which I warmed slightly in the toaster oven. I also added some avocado, raw sunflower seeds and Trader Jose’s Jalapeno Hot Sauce.

In review, this is a nicely flavored seasoning for tofu scramble worth trying for the ease of just throwing it into the skillet with the tofu for a quick and tasty meal.

2013-06-02 13.40.11

Healthy Hypocrite Tip:  Get to know your local health food store, especially one with bulk bins.  I regularly buy many of my nuts, seeds, beans and grains in bulk when they are on sale.  My local Sprouts Farmers Market store (within walking distance, lucky me!) has a weekly flyer in the mail so I usually look it over to see what produce is in season and on sale along with bulk items.  Items I almost always have on hand are sunflower seeds, almonds, cashews, black beans, garbanzo beans, raisins, dried cranberries, onion, oatmeal, flax seeds, chia seeds, popcorn (great air-popped), lentils, quinoa, nutritional yeast (yay bulk bins!).  I know you might be thinking, what about the farmer’s market?  I do advocate shopping there as well, but you need to have a price baseline so the local store is a good gauge.

Another bonus photo for your viewing pleasure:

2013-06-02 13.39.35

Leave a Reply

