What’s In My Tortilla Today? Kinda Like Last Time, Only Better!

Standard

2013-08-12 13.39.55

 

Really I say it’s better, but that’s just because I took a picture of it for you!

Happy to be back on the tortilla trail again.  I’ve been so busy with my paying gig that I’ve not had much time to photograph, let alone, write about my tortilla adventures.  Oh, I’m still busy, but there’s a sense of time being easier at the moment, so I’m going with it.

I realize that I don’t typically go into the details of how much of each ingredient I use for these tortillas.  Let’s mix it up today and get detailed.

I started with a Trader Joe’s Chile and Onion Tortilla.  I keep them in the freezer (not that they last long enough for that to be an issue) so I take one out.  I grab the rest of my ingredients that I feel like using today.

Hummus:  one serving is 2 Tbls, and I used just under that

Red onion:  chopped, about 1/8 cup or so

Zucchini:  1″ slice from a small one (about 1Tbls)

Yellow beet:  1/4″ slice from a medium one (about 1/2 Tbls)

Jalapeno:  about a 1/3 ” slice (remove seeds) from a medium sized pepper

Garlic:  one medium clove

Cilantro:  small handful of leaves, chopped a little

Seitan O’ Greatness:  This was made the other day too.  1/2 slice off the log (about 1/4 cup) and cut into small cubes

Tomato:  1/3″-1/2″ slice from a medium one, diced

Avocado:  1/4 of a medium sized one, diced (ish)

Nutritional yeast:  tiny sprinkle (1/4 tsp?)

Sunflower seeds:  raw, about 1/8 cup (one serving is 1/4 cup, by the way)

Bragg’s Organic Vinaigrette:  maybe a tsp.  (one serving is 2 Tbls, so you see you don’t even need that much)

Trader Joe’s Jalapeno Hot Sauce:  a few splashes

I thought I’d like the tortilla a little crispy around the edges so I put it in the toaster oven with the above ingredients on it at about 300ºF.  You really should keep an eye on tortillas in the toaster oven.  I have inadvertently walked away and burned a few in my day.  Also, I have this old hand-me-down toaster oven that doesn’t shut off automatically and I hate to burn and waste food.

While that was in the oven, I put the zucchini, fire roasted jalapeno (this was made previously and in the fridge),  garlic and yellow beet into my trusty mini chopper and chopped somewhat finely.

Then I took the tortilla out of the oven and then put the chopped cilantro, the veggie mix from the chopper and the cubed seitan on top.  Then I added the tomato, a tiny sprinkle of nutritional yeast and the avocado.  Then I drizzled on the vinaigrette and splashed on the hot sauce.  I always put the sunflower seeds on last so they don’t get too soggy–they are the raw variety, so they’re not a crunchy as roasted anyway.  Then I put the tortilla on my good old clear glass plate (my first and only set of dishes I bought when I was 19–never broke one piece in all the years) and took the photo.

Now, I’m about halfway done eating the thing as I write this.  It’s quite good, if I do say so myself.  Spicy, crispy yet chewy and filling.

Enjoy the rest of your Monday!

Healthy Hypocrite Tip:  If you are trying to cut down on how much you eat, drink more water.  It helps you feel more full.  I know I’ve mentioned drinking more water before, but it’s important.  And, no,  beverages like coffee and soda that contain water do not count as water and why do you waste your money on them anyway?

Leave a Reply

