What’s In My Home-made Tortilla Today? Guess What’s Missing!

Standard

Oh, it’s not “missing.”  You may notice something that is almost always on my tortilla that is not on it today. I know it would be a good idea to do a separate post for the tortilla recipe and just because it seems like a good idea, doesn’t mean that’s what I’ll do.

2013-08-22 13.08.41

Here’s lunch: Home-made tortilla (recipe below), black wild rice, Bragg’s Organic Vinaigrette, red onion, fresh parsley, yellow beet, tomato, cucumber, sesame seed and Trader Joe’s Jalapeño Hot Sauce.  This is a good one and in case you realized what I was referring to as “missing,” it’s avocado.  It didn’t need it.  I know, am I serious?  I’m going to have a dessert tortilla with almond butter so I’ll get my good fat there instead.

In my need to make my own tortillas (at least once in a while), I made these yesterday.  Feel free to experiment as you will get different results even if you do the exact same thing twice. I experimented by using a little bit of vital wheat gluten (flour) in these which I will say, I will not do again.  Not that they are bad because of it, they just don’t need it.

Here is the recipe as I made it:

1-1/4 cup unbleached white flour

1/2 cup rice flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/4 cup vital wheat gluten flour

1 tsp himalayan pink salt

2-3 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp baking powder

2+ tsp dried chili flakes

1/2 tsp white pepper

1/4 tsp xanathan gum

1/3 cup sunflower oil

juice of one lime plus enough hot water to make 1 cup (total liquid)

Mix all the dry ingredients together in a large bowl.  I like to use a whisk.  Add the oil and mix with your hands until it’s crumbly.  Add the water/lime juice and mix until it forms a nice ball.  Cover the bowl and let sit for 30 minutes (or so).  Take little balls of the dough and roll with a rolling pin between 2 layers of plastic.  This makes it so you don’t need to use extra flour for rolling.  Make sure to peel the plastic from the tortilla, not the tortilla from the plastic.  Or use a tortilla press which is what I did.  The size of the dough balls is up to you.  I did small 1.5″ ones as my tortilla press is only 6″ size.  Keep the bowl of dough covered while you do the rolling/cooking.  Heat a heavy skillet to medium high and place the tortilla into it for a minute or so and then flip and cook a little longer.  These are thicker tortillas than you typically find in the store.  That’s part of what I like about them.

No Healthy Hypocrite Tip today.  Deal with it!  ;o)

Leave a Reply

